[Hip Hop] “Lost Ones” – Lauryn Hill

dread-locked-like-lauren-hill-then-get-in-here.jpg-466x300-wplok

To kick off the launch of this blog, I wanted to make a bit of a bold statement. I chose to go out with Lauryn Hill and play a song of hers that shows off her edgier side, expressed through raw lyrics.

The song I chose is called “Lost Ones,” a song that was put on her breakthrough 1998 album titled The Miseducation of Lauryn Hill. My take on it is about people’s claims to purity and good intent, but don’t practice what they preach. They judge and criticize others and expect to receive positive feedback in return.

I think this is Lauryn’s way of teaching people about delusion and the truth of karma in the music business – and everyday life.

On one of her tours in October of last year, Lauryn said the following before performing “Lost Ones” in Dallas:

“Be careful how you judge.  A lot of deception out there. A lot of misunderstanding out there.  A lot of miscommunication out there.  A lot of false information out there.  A whole lot and notice after all the people that just talk, talk, talk, who’s the silent one?

And you know why? Let me tell you why I don’t really chat back.  Because I know that my brothers and my sisters are often times pawns in a bigger scheme.  So when they, under pressure, attack me…. I love them still.

You know I know I’m not crazy, which is why I can use the word so freely…. Crazy like a fox.  Ahead, ahead of the curve.  People don’t like people necessarily who are ahead of the curve, but unfortunately that’s not my problem.”

And no it ain’t.

So without further ado, L. Boogie in the house!

Leave a Reply

